ALADS was formed in February, 1970, by ten Deputies who joined together to collectively resolve a dispute. Their effort grew quickly because there was a need for a new and separate association for Deputy Sheriffs. Prior to 1970, there was no association controlled by, and operated for, the rank-and-file Deputy. Later ALADS expanded to include the District Attorney Investigators and Deputy Marshals, many of whom were former Deputy Sheriffs.

In 1976, ALADS was certified as the majority representative for Bargaining Unit 0611, comprised of non-supervisory peace officer employees of the County. Our Memorandums of Understanding have historically resulted in the best wages, benefits and working conditions negotiated for any County employee group.

By 1981, ALADS had moved into its own corporate offices and negotiated paid time off for its officers to conduct ALADS business on a full-time basis. Our in-house staff assists members with grievance proceedings and a variety of insurance plans.

In 1983, ALADS affiliated with the Marine Engineers Beneficial Association, the AFL-CIO, and the Los Angeles County and California State Federations of Labor, moving us into the mainstream of organized working people working together. As a result, ALADS enjoys the strength of these bodies in its collective bargaining relationship with the County of Los Angeles and in its legislative efforts in Sacramento and Washington, D.C. ALADS leadership in dealing with the County on matters of salary, benefits and any other issues affecting working conditions is truly respected by all unions representing county employees.

Meet Your Board of Directors

Ronald Hernandez


Ronald Hernandez was elected to the Board of Directors in 2015. He was voted President in 2016.

Robert Sass

Vice President

Robert Sass was elected to the Board of Directors in 2016. He was voted Vice-President in 2016.

Jennifer Martin


Jennifer Martin was elected to the Board of Directors in 2014. She was voted Secretary in 2014.

Steven Blagg


Steven Blagg was elected to the Board of Directors in 2016. He was voted Treasurer in 2017.

James Wheeler


James Wheeler was elected to the Board of Directors in 2017.

Xochilt Rosas


Xochilt Rosas was added to the Board of Directors in 2018 to replace Troy Jackson.

Mark Claahsen


Mark Claahsen has been a deputy sheriff since 1986. He was elected to the Board of Directors in 2016.